Beauty Product Review – NYX Strobe of Genius

Yesterday I purchased this gorgeous NYX Strobe of Genius palette. It contains many shades to give you the perfect highlight. I’ve been watching many YouTube tutorials on strobing and have been keen to give it a go. 

I’m particularly intrigued by the lilac shade in this palette – I think it would be wonderful in the winter around Christmas (sorry I just said the ‘C’ word!) as it is has a cool tone. There are some lovely rose gold sections in the palette too and also some bronze ones. Right, let’s show you some swatches! 

Top row of palette, highlighters from left to right
Bottom row of palette, highlighters from left to right

I’m really impressed with the variety of shades and also how sparkley they are! I’m definitely going to be using these as eyeshadow too as they’ll look beautiful in this amazing sunshine we’re having recently. Here’s how I used the palette today – 

I layered up the shade on the furthest right, bottom row with the pinky toned one on the top row on the top of my cheeks. I also used the pinky tones on my nose, Cupid’s bow and chin. You can’t see in the photo, but I used one of the bronze tones to highlight along my hair line on my forehead. 

I was very subtle with this because the powders are super pigmented and I didn’t want to go too crazy! I’m a bit of a whimp like that! It’s made me realise I really need to invest in a decent fan brush as none of my brushes were really suitable for the application of the product. 

Overall I’m very pleased! The colours are so pretty, I can’t wait to try them all out! For the darker shades on the bottom row, I’ll probably use them as an eyeshadow as my skin is quite fair and they might not look right on my cheeks, etc. 

Have you tried out the strobing trend? 

Kerry x

One thought on “Beauty Product Review – NYX Strobe of Genius

Leave a Reply

