DIY Beauty – A Brightening Face Mask

This is the first of a new series of blog posts on DIY beauty which will include face masks, hair masks and smoothies. Today I had a go at making my own face mask. There are so many masks on the market that all claim to do many *amazing* things to your skin. But they are usually full of many ingredients I’ve never even heard of – why would I want that on my skin? What good can they actually be doing? I did my research into natural, easy to obtain ingredients, to make my own mask with. I just had to share the recipe with you!


The base ingredient is half an avocado. As you know, I absolutely love these things, they are just super in every way! They have a brilliant effect on the skin too as they are full of nutrients, proteins and vitamins. They are excellent at hydrating for all skin types and anti-aging. The benefits really are endless!

The next ingredient is a tablespoon of honey. Honey is packed with antioxidants and this is great for acne prone skin. Other benefits include adding moisture to the skin and clearing out the pores.

The final ingredient is lemon juice. Lemon juice is known to help exfoliate your skin and brighten the complexion.

Mush all the ingredients together and you’ll get something a bit like this –

Apply the mask all over cleansed skin, with extra on your problem areas. Leave it on for about ten minutes and voila – you’ll be looking brighter and feeling moisturised! How easy is that? 

And as you can see, it’s such an attractive look!

I’d love to know if you have a go at making one of your own and what you thought. My skin is feeling super soft now and it’s so nice to know exactly what has been on my skin.

Kerry x

2 thoughts on “DIY Beauty – A Brightening Face Mask

  1. What a lovely, well written post. The oils in avocado can be so nourishing!

    I don’t know if you’ve heard much about the effects of lemon juice on the skin? It has photosensitising properties which can cause skin damage. It’s also pretty alkaline, which can hurt your skins natural acidity.

    Like

Leave a Reply

