Mum’s Christmas Makeup Look 

When my Mum asked me to have a go at her makeup, I felt so excited! She’s the perfect person to practice the skills I’ve been studying on my Makeup Artistry course. I had to bear a few things in mind whilst I made my plan –

  • This is a Christmas party look, so it had to have a bit of classy sparkle somewhere!
  • Mum has green eyes, so I checked the colour wheel to see which colours complimented this and went for purples and burgundies.
  • Mum is a bit older than me, so really won’t appreciate unicorn highlighter and false eyelashes!
  • I asked Mum to bring her own foundation so that it was a perfect match for her skin tone and type.

Plan.jpg

After going through the plan with Mum, we decided not to use the Grav3yard Girl Swamp Queen Palette shade ‘Mancat’ as I previously planned, and opted for NYX Single Shadow in ‘Addiction’ instead as it had a bit more shimmer to it and a dramatic look.

Here is Mum’s before photo –

wp-image-1028489304jpg.jpg

We began by cleansing, toning, moisturising and finally priming the skin.

 

MoisturiserBio Extracts Light Face Cream mixed with the Glow Booster

Primer – Nivea Sensitive Post Shave Balm

Next was foundation, Max Factor Colour Adapt in 70 Natural (Mum’s own) –

My favourite part now! I used the Too Faced Shadow Insurance Primer on Mum’s eyes and got to work on the eyeshadow look I’d planned for her.

Too Faced Sweet Peach Palette –

  1. Peaches n’ Cream all over the lid and brow bone
  2. Georgia over the lid
  3. Bellini in the centre of the lid
  4. Luscious in inner corner
  5. Peach Pit along lower lash line

NYX Hot Singles Shadow in Shade ‘Addiction’ in outer half of lid. I concealed under the eyes with the Soap & Glory Kick Ass Concealer.

Next up, brows! I was particularly pleased with this as I think they changed Mum’s face completely! I used the Collection Eyebrow Define in Blonde.

I used the Collection Precision Contouring Stick just under Mum’s cheekbones. I didn’t want to go overboard on this because I think Mum has a lovely bone structure, without me having to cut it even more with contour. I also used Makeup Revolution’s Golden Sugar Blush Palette on the apples of the cheeks in the third shade along the top row. To add a subtle highlight, I applied the Maybelline Master Strobing Stick in shade 001 Light.

15

The combination is gorgeous, don’t you think?

Now onto the lips, I wanted a subtle purple colour to make Mum’s eyes pop even more. We went for the Lancome Juicy Shaker in Berry in Love (smells delicious too!).

18

To complete the look, Mum applied her own mascara. Mum absolutely loves the Max Factor 2000 Calorie Mascara, she says she doesn’t get panda eyes with it and it stays on all day. Definitely one I want to have a go with!

 

 

Here is the completed look! Ta Dah!

Doesn’t she look beautiful? I’m so pleased with how everything came out and Mum was happy too! Mum’s eyes definitely look greener and larger and she’s definietly ready to party at Christmas!

If you would like to feature on the blog, then get in touch! I’m always happy to have a go at your makeup, or send you advice so you can have a go yourself. Email here if you’re interested or for more info.

Kerry x

4 thoughts on “Mum’s Christmas Makeup Look 

Leave a Reply

