50 Shades… Themed Makeup

As the new 50 Shades Darker film was released a few days ago, I thought I’d have a go at a grey makeup theme. To be honest, I’m not a fan of the books or films myself – I don’t really understand the whole man hurting a woman for pleasure thing, but each to their own! I wore this makeup for a meal with my husband on Valentine’s Day. This is just a quick eye makeup tutorial and once again I’ve included lots of photos for step-by-step guides.

Before I begin, I received a few nasty comments from one individual the other day on a photo of my Valentine’s makeup on Instagram. I’d just like to say firstly that I’m not a professional makeup artist, I do this for fun and to improve my own skills. I just really love sharing with you guys and most of you seem to like it! Secondly, can we all just be nice to each other? Us girls should just stick together, don’t you think? Anyway, enough of that. Let’s get started!

20170210_154335

As before, I prepped my face with my usual favourites –

  • Soap & Glory Speed Plump Moisturiser
  • Carmex lip balm
  • L’Oreal True Match Foundation in Vanilla Rose
  • L’Oreal True Match Concealer in Vanilla
  • MAC Paint Pot in Painterly as an eye primer
  • Collection Precision Contour
  •  Collection Eyebrow Definer
  • PS… Pro HD Mascara

My eyeshadow palette of choice this time was my Morphe 35N (I seriously love this palette!) and I used my amazing Spectrum Collections Eye Blending Brush Set.

Over my MAC Paint Pot in the shade Painterly, which I use as a eye primer, I covered my whole lid and brow bone in a neutral shade.

Next I used the beautiful light grey shade over my lids.

20170214_205751

I then used a darker shade of grey in my crease. This was tricky to blend and looked a bit messy, so I went in again with the light grey and blended it all out.

Next I used a tiny amount of a purple shade from the palette and applied it to the outer corners.

That’s all from the eyeshadow palette – now for some glitter! I used my Glitter Eyes pressed glitter in the shade Nirvana. This stuff is beautiful! It has rainbow glitter in it which looks stunning when it catches the light. I used it along my lower lash line.

I finished the eye look off with some more eyelashes from Beauty Atelier Shop. These are handmade, cruelty free mink lashes called #Softly. They are extremely comfortable as they have a light-weight band. You can buy the lashes here. If you enter the code KER 10 at the checkout, you’ll get free shipping (you can thank me later!). 

I found the perfect matte, liquid lipstick to go with this look and this was NYX Lip Lingerie in the shade Embellishment. This is a beautiful greyish purple, definitely one of my favourites. 

20170214_210333

Here it is, the finished look! I really hope you like this one. Let me know if there are any other makeup looks or themes you’d like me to have a go at. I like a good project! 

I hope you all had a wonderful Valentine’s Day and enjoy the rest of your week – it’s almost the weekend! 

20170214_214123

Kerry x

8 thoughts on “50 Shades… Themed Makeup

      1. They are cheap and good quality! The only problem is that I don’t think they sell sets, so it gets more expensive because you have to buy individual ones for each purpose. But I

        Like

Leave a Reply

