Norwich Fashion Week 2017 – The Dipple & Conway Hair and Makeup Show

This has got to be, by far, my best blogging experience to date and I just had to share it with you. On Friday 10th March, I went to the Dipple & Conway Hair and Makeup Show for Norwich Fashion Week 2017.  I was given a VIP ticket by the event organisers and felt so grateful to be gifted such a wonderful opportunity.

When I arrived, I went to the VIP area and met the lovely Charlotte of Simply Lottie – another Norwich blogger. The show was due to start at 8pm, so we were able to chat all things blogging for a little while!

The show itself took place in Open – a beautiful venue with ornate ceilings and a large open space with an overlooking balcony. I already knew when I took my seat, that this was going to be a great show.

The show was split into four segments – Shakespeare, Burlesque, Contemporary and Sci-Fi. Salons, MUAs and colleges were there showcasing their work on beautiful models from Sandra Reynolds. The costumes were provided by The Maddermarket Theatre and were stunning.

20170310_201130

Set 1

Shakespeare

This segment opened the show with a beautiful operatic performance by Emma Nuule – who also looked amazing in her of the time period costume.

20170310_200842

I was very excited for this part of the show because I love all things Shakespeare. The models were dressed as various Shakespearean characters and their hair and makeup beautifully reflected their character’s personality. Such a brilliant opening section!

Those showcasing their work were –

Millie Rose

Example

Lowestoft College

Paintopia (More about them later!)

Burlesque

The models for this segment were admirable. I was blown away by their confidence and stage presence. They rocked the burlesque look and once again the hair and makeup was bang-on theme. Such a cool and empowering part of the show!

Those showcasing their work were –

Posh

The Cottage

Kerri Anema

Set 2

Contemporary

Full of fast paced music and bright colours this was an exciting start to set 2! I loved the theme here and how each salon and MUA interpreted it.

Those showcasing their work were –

Lanoi and Nutch

Glam R

Hairsmiths

Sci-Fi

Another set I got over excited about! I’m a huge geeky sci-fi fan and couldn’t wait to see the theme interpreted. I wasn’t disappointed!

Those showcasing their work were –

Atelier

Salon 66

The Norwich School of Beauty

Paintopia – a special shout out to these guys! Their work actually gave me goosebumps. They are a group of body paint artists whose skills are off the scale. I’ve never seen anything like it – the artwork was incredible and the way the models presented themselves and their characters was incredible. As usual, I struggle to put down in words how amazing they are, so here are some photos instead!

What a show! I will definitely be going back next year and hopefully to see more shows. I’ve been looking at photos on Twitter and Instagram of the other events and they look just as brilliant. I feel very blessed to have been part of such an awesome experience and am so happy it took place in lovely Norwich.

I have also put together a little video of all the photos and some video footage I took of the night – take a look and please give it a like. Thank you!

 

Kerry x

3 thoughts on “Norwich Fashion Week 2017 – The Dipple & Conway Hair and Makeup Show

Leave a Reply

