Fab or Fad? ~ MUA Makeup Academy Undress Your Skin Shimmer Highlighter in Ice Sparkle

With the word ‘sparkle’ in the product name, I just had to give this highlighter a go! I was also drawn to the blue tone like a moth to the flame. Blue highlighter? How will I not look like an Ice Queen? 

This is one of three new highlighters from MUA – an affordable but good quality brand. I’ve previously reviewed the same product in the shade Opalescent Amber. Read that one here.  

Finger Swatch

As you can see from the swatch, it is VERY BLUE. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a stunning colour but during the swatching stage I was getting gradually more terrified about applying it to my face. How can this look good?

Swatched without primer
Swatched with primer

Well, I plucked up the courage this morning and applied it to my cheek bones. I did try putting it on my nose, as I normally would, but it looked frankly ridiculous. Think Adventure Time Ice King. 

I had a minimal makeup day today, so I applied the highlighter over just primer and a bit of concealer. I tested it in three different lighting situations for you because I was desperately trying to make it work. 

Natural Light
Ring Light
Camera Flash

As usual my camera hasn’t picked up the tones that I wanted it to, but this looks much more blue in real life. My husband actually thought I’d accidentally got something on my face! 

Final verdict – FAD! 

Yes it’s very pigmented and looks beautiful in the packaging, but I really don’t see how a blue swipe of shimmer is flattering on your skin? It looks cold and a bit like a fancy dress makeup look colour. If I ever decide to create a Halloween unicorn/mermaid/alien/snowflake makeup look then this highlighter will be the first thing I reach for. Now that’s an idea… 

I absolutely love the other MUA Undress Your Skin Shimmer Highlighters and highly recommend them. They are also a bargain £3 for a lot of product. You can get them from the MUA website here or Superdrug here

Just avoid this one… 

Kerry x

Leave a Reply

