Join Me On My 10K Journey | Part 3

The past two weeks have been brilliant in terms of my progress and excitement for the 10k. Firstly, I completed the Couch to 5k program! I’m so happy and can’t actually believe I managed it.

Now that the training is complete, I have been doing free runs. I was worried these would be hard to do because I don’t have a ‘coach’ shouting encouragement in my ear and telling me what to do next. However, free runs have actually been amazing. I’ve pushed myself harder than I ever have before and have been running non-stop for longer distances. I ran my first two 5k distances in the last couple of days, without stopping to walk once and I couldn’t be prouder! I have never managed to go this far without needing a quick break – even before having Baby J. This really is a big deal to me!

I have still been making the right choices in terms of my diet and I’m seeing the results in my physique. I’m fitting into my pre-pregnancy clothes – with room to spare!

I have decided that the start of June will be the start of my 5k to 10k training program. This will mean I’m more than race ready by August.

Today was an exciting day in terms of the Run Norwich 10k. I was invited by the charity I’m running for – Norwich City Community Sports Foundation – to attend a pre-run meet up at the Norwich City FC ground. I took my husband and Baby J along too (my hubby is a BIG NCFC fan booooo hissss). We were given a goody bag at the door – win!

IMG_20170521_143222_170

Inside were other runners taking part for the charity, it was lovely to see everyone who are running or such a great cause. We had a little talk from one of the charity spokespeople and were also introduced to the special guest – Jessica Jane Applegate, the paralympic swimmer who won medals at Rio 2016 – so exciting!

Overall, I’m feeling good! With just over a month until the Colour Run with my Mum, I’m feeling confident about running the 5k with a half-decent time. Mum and I actually went for a run together on Thursday evening and it went very well. Having her with me made me run further and faster – she’s a brilliant pacer!

20170521_133208
Worst photo of me EVER!

Remember, if you’d like to sponsor my for the Run Norwich 10k, click here. I am over half way to reaching my target. I need to raise £100 by 19th June, so not long to go!

See you again in 2 weeks for another update!

Kerry x
JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Leave a Reply

