xoBeauty Matte Lipstick in Philocaly

When I watched Shaaanxo’s new makeup line announcement video last week, I was so excited by the beautiful colours and quality of both her liquid and regular lipsticks. I was especially excited by the matte lipstick in the shade ‘Philocaly‘ and settled on just this one. It arrived today – just a week after it was posted from New Zealand!

Shaaanxo is by far my favourite YouTube Beauty Guru. I first discovered her when scouring the web for a wedding makeup tutorial. I actually used her one for my own wedding makeup (yes I was brave enough and mad enough to do my own makeup!). She always manages to achieve pure magic with any eyeshadow and her makeup tips are useful and achievable.  I was extremely excited to see that she’d actually signed the card that came with the lipstick too – I had a extreme fan-girl moment when I saw it!

The lipstick came packaged in a cute white box with grey polka dots on it. Inside, the tube of the lipstick has a chrome/mirror effect which is just so classy and pretty. The lid clicks into place over the lipstick, so there’s no need to worry about it coming off in your handbag.

I did a swatch of the lipstick on my arm first and it swatched beautifully. It has a very creamy texture which glides onto the skin. The colour looks even more beautiful in real life and I think I picked well for my skin tone. It is a stunning pinky nude – my fave!

Swatch – xoBeauty Matte Lipstick in Philocaly

When I put it onto my lips, I was first impressed by the gorgeous smell of crème brûlée – don’t worry if you don’t like strong smells in your makeup, this is a beautifully subtle scent. The lipstick went smoothly onto my lips and didn’t cling to patches as matte lipsticks have a habit of doing. It feels very nourishing on the lips too. I’ve had it on all day and my skin doesn’t feel dried out at all. It also really stayed put! There was very little transfer when kissing Baby J and the hubby and it stayed on very well during meals.

Overall, I’m very happy with this lipstick. I’m so pleased that it has been lovingly designed and created by a brilliant YouTuber, who has worked hard to get to this stage. You could tell from her announcement video how much this collection really meant to her. Philocaly also really reminds me of MAC’s Brave in colour – but I actually prefer this formula! It has better staying power and is much easier to apply.

To buy your own xoBeauty Matte Liptick in Philocaly, click here. To check out the other lipsticks in the range, click here.

Kerry x

9 thoughts on “xoBeauty Matte Lipstick in Philocaly

Leave a Reply

