Join Me On My 10K Journey – Part 4

Hello Everyone!

Thank you so much for joining me again on my 10k journey. The last couple of weeks have seen a couple of mini milestones. Firstly, I reached my charity place sponsorship target! I’m now over the £100 that I needed to raise. If you sponsored me – thank you from the bottom of my heart. I think about your support and kindness when I’m out training and it really does spur me on.

Screenshot_20170612-192240

My second piece of news is that I’ve begun my 5k to 10k training program. It’s really bloody scary and hard work sometimes, but I can’t believe the leap I’ve made in my fitness levels. Just two months ago, I couldn’t do the 30 seconds of running intervals in the early stages of the 5k training without feeling exhausted. I’m now running solidly for 40 minutes! The one thing I have to contend with now though, is the heat…

It really hit me yesterday, whilst I was out, that this 10k is going to be HOT. It’s in August, in the middle of the city and there will be a lot of other bodies around me. I’ll be honest when I say that this has freaked me out slightly. I’m hoping we get a cool day on race day, but I seriously doubt that will happen.

IMG_20170603_121144_447

I thought I’d also share a recipe for good runner fuel that I’ve been loving this week. I call it a recipe, but really I just dump all of these items onto my plate –

  • A baked sweet potato
  • Chickpeas roasted in chilli powder
  • Poached eggs
  • Rocket salad
  • Sundried ttomatoes
  • Sour cream
  • Green Pesto


Overall, it has been a good couple of weeks. I’ve had to step it up a gear and really challenge myself, but this is what’s needed. I’m still loving it!

Even though I’ve reached my target, your sponsorship is still needed. If you’d like to sponsor me and read my story, visit my Just Giving page here.

Kerry x

Leave a Reply

