Join Me On My 10K Journey | Part 5

With the 10k less than 5 weeks away, I have to be honest and say that I’m feeling more than a little bit anxious. In fact, I’m in full on panic mode. Yes, I’m running for longer, further and faster than I ever have before but I’m still slower than every other runner I know, I still almost die when I run over 5k and I still have a full on tantrum when it gets too hot. Help me! 

I also feel that 10k is viewed on by some people as a not decent enough distance. But what I want to stress (to those of you who do think that) is that it is A BIG DEAL TO ME. I have my own personal barriers that I fight each and every time I go out for training – confidence and a fear of people laughing at me, terrified that I’ll be attacked and scarred by a dog again, stressed that I’ll be slower than last time, guilt over leaving my baby and husband for 50 minutes and many more. No, I’m not looking for sympathy, just a bit of understanding. I’m also not saying that if you don’t sponsor me you’re not supportive. Just some words of encouragement would be nice, instead of denying all knowledge of me doing this and saying nothing – which to my amazement a lot of people are doing! 

Anyway, enough of the moody stuff. I have had to think about extending my running courses now as I have to run for longer periods of time. My husband took me to Eaton Park, Norwich the other weekend and it was lovely. It was nice to run amongst the greenery and also a lot of other runners. 

Next weekend is the Norwich Colour 5k! I’m so bloody excited and even more excited to be running it with my mum. We’ve both been training hard and really want to enjoy this one. Plus I get a medal. 

In other news, I have set up an Instagram account to help motivate me in my fitness and weight loss. If you’d like to take a follow it’s called @kerrys.fitness.journey

If you’d like to sponsor me for the Run Norwich 10K, you can do so by clicking the button below. 
JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Kerry x

Leave a Reply

